Board of Directors

Sara Ziff is the founding director of the Model Alliance. She has worked as a model for nearly two decades and produced the feature documentary Picture Me, which chronicles her and other models’ experiences of their industry. Sara spearheaded and oversaw efforts to extend labor protections to child fashion models in New York State. She also helped to draft and introduce legislation that would create the first federal protections for child performers. Sara received her B.A. from Columbia University and her M.P.A. from Harvard Kennedy School of Government.

Dorian Warren is an assistant professor of American Politics at Columbia University who specializes in the study of inequality and American politics, focusing on the politics of marginalized groups. His research and teaching interests include labor organizing and politics, race and ethnic politics, urban politics and policy, American political development, community organizing, public policy, and social science methodology.

Alexandra Simmerson is Corporate Counsel for Michael Kors (USA), Inc. in New York. Her work at Michael Kors spans a variety of practice areas including advertising, marketing and promotions work; model and photographer agreements; data privacy and incident response matters; product and territorial licensing management; and general corporate transactional work. Alexandra received her B.A. in Sociology from the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor in 2011, and her J.D., with a concentration in Intellectual Property Law, from the Benjamin N. Cardozo School of Law in New York in 2014.

Advisory Board

Alise Shoemaker  (Model)

Alison Nix  (Model)

Carré Otis  (Model, Author and Ambassador, National Eating Disorders Association)

Chan Kim  (Model) 

Chris Gay (Executive Director of North American Operations, Elite World Group; General Manager, The Society)

Deborah Allton-Maher  (Associate Executive Director, AGMA) 

Flora Stamatiades  (National Director of Organizing and Special Projects, Actors' Equity)

Hannelore Knuts  (Model)

James Scully (Casting Director)

Jeff Tse  (Photographer)

Jenna Sauers  (Journalist)

Kelli DeSantis  (Web Developer, Model Alliance)

Madeline Hill  (Interim Co-Director) 

Meredith Hattam  (Interim Co-Director, Graphic Designer) 

Milla Jovovich  (Model, Actress)  

Rachel Blais  (Model, Blogger)

Shalom Harlow  (Model, Actress)

Tracy Murphy  (Makeup Artist)  

Share →